Back to School

Same crappy selfie as last year for consistency's sake
Same crappy selfie as last year for consistency’s sake

I somewhat unintentionally took a hiatus during the summer because, well, I wasn’t in “Collegeland.” Because a few interested souls (bless you) asked, I started thinking about whether or not I would continue with the blog. After all, it was originally intended to document my freshman year. I haven’t decided for sure yet, but I’m writing a Back to School post regardless.

Pit stop at Pamela's Diner in Pittsburgh!
Pit stop at Pamela’s Diner in Pittsburgh!

Returning to campus was an exciting and strange experience. For one, I drove from Texas with my dad. This alone has already proved to be a massive improvement upon my freshman year. Having a car here is changing my life, and I’m not being dramatic. I have a slightly different perspective on Ithaca and Cornell now that I can drive through it or, in case of emergency, get out to breathe a little. This might not make a ton of sense, or maybe it sounds like a ton of BS, but it’s true. It feels like I really live here now. It also doesn’t take me close to three hours to make a trip to Wegman’s.

Seeing all the freshmen families made me even more excited. There was nothing at all wrong with my first year, but it’s SO great to be past it. I was still slightly anxious to arrive in Ithaca (who knows why), but the level of nerves didn’t come close to the freshman level. Excitement definitely outweighed anxiety this time because now I know what I’m doing! Sort of. I find myself walking around with much more confidence, and it makes me feel even more a part of the community/campus.

First day of classes
First day of classes

During O-Week, I walked through the Arts Quad during the Arts & Sciences convocation (unwittingly, I might add). Hearing the Dean of the school give the Class of 2019 the same speech she had given us (2018) exactly a year earlier was strange and amusing. It was like an out-of-body experience–as if I was time-traveling, watching August-2014-Natalie being welcomed to Cornell. I was excited for the new freshmen and also kind of in awe that it wasn’t me sitting in that audience anymore.

One thing that didn’t change, though, is the looming feeling of chaos disguised as busyness. The first few weeks of the semester (fall, in particular) are nuts. On top of classes starting, I’ve had team/organization meetings, recruitment sessions (in which I now have to recruit others), sorority goings-on, lunches with friends.

This week is a big one. I’m meeting with new bloggers or old friends every day, attending Career Fair prep sessions (how does one “adult”?) and declaring my major! After a whole year of being technically-undeclared-but-99%-set-on-English, I’ll finally be a real English major! YAY! I’m also helping to advertise for ballroom team tryouts and trying to find a (paid) job. There’s a lot going on, but I have to admit that it is pretty exciting.

If the beginning has been a reliable indicator, I think sophomore year is gonna be a very good one. I physically knocked on wood after I wrote that, just in case.

~Natalie

Leave a Reply

