Mid-Semester Reflection

The Cornell Daily Sun 133rd Editorial Board | Photo courtesy of The Cornell Daily Sun
The Cornell Daily Sun 133rd Editorial Board | Photo courtesy of The Cornell Daily Sun

As time flies on and on, we’re reaching the middle of spring semester. Most people would argue that it’s still winter, but I can feel the inevitable end approaching (unfortunately). My freshman year is moving by so quickly, and because I’m very aware of this, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what this year and this semester has taught me. Here are a few of those nuggets of wisdom for your reading pleasure.

But first, an important update!

If you keep up with Natalie in Collegeland, you might know that since the beginning of the semester, I’ve been “compet-ing” (competing) to be the Blogs Editor of The Daily Sun. Well, elections were held on Saturday morning at a gruesome 9:00 AM start time, and I was elected into the position! WOO! I am now the Blogs Editor serving on the 133rd Editorial Board (pictured above)! I’m super excited to get to work, and even more excited that I gave what was apparently an effective speech without having really spoken in front of a crowd since freshman year of high school. Read the article about the members of the new board here!

Ithaca weather is not nearly as bad as people say it is.

Wary southerners, rejoice!

When I told people I was going to Cornell and that it was okay because I like winter, most people said “You think you like winter. Just you wait.” Having lived through the majority of my first Ithaca/Northern winter, including the second coldest February Ithaca has ever had in the history of ever, I can safely say HA. YOU WERE WRONG. It’s March and if you ask me, winter’s been too short. I don’t even think it’s snowed that much! I didn’t even buy a winter coat (long story short: I told myself I’d use fall coats until I couldn’t stand the cold anymore)! I still saw the sun too many times for my liking! To all those who doubted me, I’d like to say this: Winter is still my favorite season and I’d take it all year long if I could!

Life motto
Life motto

Freshman year is the only time you get to be really, super impressive.

A long list of accomplishments will certainly be impressive no matter how old you are, but there’s something about being a freshman that makes people ten times more blown away by your achievements. People are constantly surprised by my extensive and sometimes high-up involvement on campus (which is actually very ironic because they don’t know that I was literally the most uninvolved person ever in high school). Truth be told, I’m reluctant to give up the label despite the rookie, naive connotation that accompanies it.

photo 5Not everybody (hardly anybody) has a standout freshman roommate experience.

I’ve heard countless people tell me and my roommate, Ali, how refreshing it is to see roommates who actually get along and–what’s more–are really, really good friends. While I don’t think by any means that poor rooming situations are predominant, I do think that great matches are hard to come by. We weren’t 100% random, but even others who “hand picked” their roommates turned out to have a less-than-stellar experience this year, and are currently counting down the days until they get a single. Future college students: don’t get your hopes up when it comes to freshman year rooming. The most you can hope for, and what I believe is probably most common, is a considerate roommate that you will get along passably well with. Who knows, though, they might end up being your best friend at school and sophomore year roommate as well!

There is no typical college experience.

College on TV and in the movies is completely unrepresentative of what it actually is. While I don’t go out much, I also wouldn’t consider myself a total hermit, and this has resulted in a tamer, strange hybrid of the stereotypical freshman year. This point is pretty self-explanatory. Freshman year (and college in general) comes in many different shapes and sizes, and the media gives high school students a pretty narrow-minded picture of college. Frankly, I’d take my experience over any of those. Except maybe Gilmore Girls, because I’d say their depiction is pretty decent.

The best part about college: Food everywhere all the time
The best thing about college: Food everywhere all the time

I absolutely love it here.

Lately, I’ve been constantly reminded how lucky I am to be at Cornell, studying what I want to study, generally free of responsibility, and able to live my life as independently as I please. I look at the Arts Quad and remember how fortunate I am to be at Cornell. I go to CTB for breakfast or hop on the late-except-when-you’re-running-late TCAT to get somewhere off-campus and it feels like autonomy. I edit blog posts for the Sun and marvel at my new authority. I see tour groups and know that some of them are dying to get here. I take classes that make me realize that I actually really like school. I never want to forget how grateful I am to be here right now.

If someone would’ve told 13 or 15 or 17 year old me that at age 19, I’d be at an Ivy League University, I’d be part of the ballroom dance team, I’d be an editor for both a literary magazine and the newspaper, I’d have a boyfriend, or especially this one: I’d be part of a sorority, I never would have believed it. I’m thankful everyday for all of the experiences I’ve had/am having right now, and I just want to savor it while I can.

~Natalie

2 thoughts on “Mid-Semester Reflection

  1. themissmegan March 10, 2015 / 7:03 am

    I absolutely love reading your posts. It makes me nostalgic! I never finished college-too many life commitments-but reading your blogs makes me feel like I’m there with you! An editor as a freshman? Craziness! Live it up, girl, cus you’re going places! 🙂

    • natalieincollegeland March 10, 2015 / 1:14 pm

      I’m glad you enjoy reading them, and thank you so much! 🙂 Hope they bring back some good memories!

Leave a Reply

