This is Halloween

photo 2More like Hallo-multiple-weeks. Featuring first-year parents’ weekend!

Since I posted last, life has been a whirlwind of papers and tests and Halloween festivities. If you didn’t already know, most people here take Halloween very seriously. If anything, it’s an excuse to party harder than on the average weekend, and it’s the one weekend of the year that girls can dress questionably without being questioned (in general). What’s not to love?

photo 3Well, there’s the stress of organizing a clever costume and making/implementing plans, for starters. Halloween, for me at least, seemed like it was a little more stressful than it was worth. I don’t really even like the holiday to begin with–the decorations are creepy and oftentimes gross, and you feel kind of pressured to have a lot of fun. I had a good deal of fun, isn’t that enough? I do, however, love candy corn. That is one of the few concessions I’ll make when talking about Halloween.

photo 1Despite my ambivalence, I had a fun Hallo-weekend. At least the weekend before, because that’s when the bulk of my celebrating took place. Ballroom team had a house party and Risley hosted Masquerave, which is exactly what it sounds like it is. My two costumes, pictured here, were a roll of Brawny paper towels and the Golden Snitch, and they weren’t very hard at all to assemble. The only useless item I had to purchase was the pair of wings, the rest I either had or bought with the intention of future wearing. That’s pretty much the way to do it on a student budget: hit up the thrift store/closet for the bulk, buy only what is absolutely necessary (and even then, if you can return it, all the better). This is especially important when you’re tackling multiple costumes, as most girls (and probably some guys?) choose to do. Though my events were probably pretty tame comparatively, I was exhausted by Halloween on Sunday. Real Halloween weekend consisted mostly of wandering, especially because Cornell very conveniently scheduled first-year’s parents’ weekend then.

However, as a less-than-average partier, that didn’t bother me. It was great to see my parents again–to venture off the hill and get to see more of real Ithaca. While they didn’t watch any classes, they got to see me in my new environment, all settled after the first two months of my undergraduate experience. We got to discuss summer, study abroad, and post-grad plans (I know, I get ahead of myself sometimes), which only served to remind me of their unfailing support. The visit didn’t consist of much since there isn’t a whole lot to do in Ithaca, but we ate at two fantastic restaurants for dinner, stopped by Ithaca Bakery, and got to spend some time sampling the amazing food of the Farmer’s Market. All in all, it was a nice weekend and I loved getting to spend some time with my mom and dad.

I really can’t believe it’s already November. The leaves are (er, have been) changing, and in just three weeks it’ll be Thanksgiving and I’ll be homebound. After that, we have one week of classes, a little less than a week to study, final exams, and bam! Time to go home again! My first semester is almost over, and I can really see that these four years will fly by. I’ll try to relish every minute of it.

~Natalie

Leave a Reply

