The Men of Gilmore Girls

Source: fanpop.com
Source: fanpop.com

Sometime last May, I decided to start and finish watching all seven seasons of Gilmore Girls by the end of the summer and I have achieved that goal as of today! During my journey, I slowly encountered spoilers (after all, it’s been seven years since the last episode) and learned that most fans have very strong takes on the multiple men of Lorelai and Rory’s lives and whether they got what they deserved or not. There are many things I love about Gilmore Girls, but since everybody seems to take sides when it comes to the men, I want to put in my two-cents. Officially having seen every episode, I’ve found that I don’t conform to any of the popular opinions. (Except for maybe one…)

I’ll start off with Rory’s love interests:

Source: http://gilmoregirls.wikia.com/wiki/Dean_Forester
Source: gilmoregirls.wikia.com/wiki/Dean_Forester

1. Dean

For a while, I was all for Dean. He always treated Rory so well (though I didn’t like that he got SO mad at her when she hesitated to say “I love you.”) I understood when he walked away thanks to Jess, but think it was unfair for him to marry Lindsey while he still had even the smallest amount of feelings for Rory. In the end, I think it was right for him and Rory to split, even though they were great together, because they wanted completely different things. It never would’ve worked out, in my opinion.

2. Tristan

Source: fanpop.com
Source: fanpop.com

Even though he was only briefly part of the show, I liked Tristan. True, he constantly pestered Rory, but it was only because he liked her and wasn’t mature enough to handle it in the right way. They were only 15-16 years old, after all! By the time he left the show, it seemed to me that Rory had developed a tentative fondness for him, and while this was likely never a possibility, I think it would’ve been cool if he returned later on. Who knows: military school could’ve whipped him into shape! He could’ve been the right balance of bad boy and responsibility.

Source: angelfire.com
Source: angelfire.com

3. Jess

Which brings me to the bad boy of the show. Too often compared to Holden Caulfield, Jess is obviously a fan favorite. It seems like everybody LOVES him, and frankly, I just don’t. It’s not that I don’t love a good bad boy, I just didn’t think he had many redeeming qualities. He’s undeniably attractive and intelligent, and his bad behavior was largely due to his abandonment issues, but that’s no excuse for him to be such a moody little girl all the time. He hardly ever felt obligated to share things with Rory, ran away to California without a word, and his bursts of violence and rage just weren’t appealing to me. I just didn’t think he let Rory close enough and he too often acted like a complete jerk. Clearly, he loved Rory, but I think he was simply too unreliable and unpredictable to be in a committed relationship.

4. Logan

Source: fanpop.com
Source: fanpop.com

I had absolutely no problem with Logan most of the time, but didn’t feel incensed when Rory turned down his proposal. It was clear from the very get-go that Rory didn’t want to go straight from college to domesticity, and while following Logan to San Francisco wouldn’t have been the end of her career, it would’ve been putting her personal ambitions aside just in the slightest, as Paris pointed out. She wanted to be free to make her own decisions just as Logan made his own and by rejecting him, she allowed herself to follow her individual aspirations and do her own thing. I also think Logan made the right choice in choosing not to try long distance because (though I know very little about relationships) I assume that things never would have been quite the same after the proposal.

And now for Lorelai’s men:

Source: stefanieke027.tripod.com
Source: stefanieke027.tripod.com

1. Christopher

Although many describe him as a massive jerk, I really liked Christopher. I absolutely hated that he got Sherry pregnant at the most inconvenient time ever and at times he was extremely irrational, but I loved the idea of Lorelai and Christopher ending up together after all that time. Honestly, I just felt sorry for him toward the end of the series. He was finally in the position to provide for Rory and Lorelai, but soon discovered he wasn’t the one. So close, yet so far.

2. Max

Source: gilmoregirls.wikia.com
Source: gilmoregirls.wikia.com

Max was nice. But that was just it: there was nothing else really compelling about him. He would’ve made a great stepfather, but I never thought it seemed like Lorelai really loved him. For Pete’s sake, she called her baby daddy at her bachelorette party! She was clearly trying to talk herself into the marriage, and as she tells Rory in season 7, when you’ve found the one, you won’t want to hesitate to say “yes.” When it came to Christopher vs. Max I rooted for Chris all the way.

Source: community.flixster.com
Source: community.flixster.com

3. Jason

I didn’t like anything about Jason. I thought he was weird, and then he went and sued Richard! What Richard did to him was just awful, and I think things played out very realistically. Jason had no choice but to sue and Lorelai had no choice but to leave him. I wasn’t too bothered by any of it.

4. Luke

Source: tvguide.com
Source: tvguide.com

YES. Just yes. He was the perfect complement to Lorelai! Luke is introverted, rational, and reserved while Lorelai is outgoing, spastic, and unnaturally bubbly. They accentuated each other perfectly, and it was so painfully obvious (to everyone except Lorelai) that he was hopelessly, indisputably, desperately in love with her. The whole time. I never got why Lorelai couldn’t remember that when she gave him an ultimatum and then left. At least they ended up together, though!

Yes, that’s a lot of thought to put into a TV show, but as beloved as Gilmore Girls was and still is, is it such a surprise that so many people talk about these things? I absolutely adored the series and am glad I can now watch whatever episode I want without fearing further spoilers. Next up on my “to-watch list”: New Girl, True Detective, and Once Upon a Time. But which first…?

~Natalie

 

Leave a Reply

