Summer Goals

SUMMER GOALSI’m a list-maker. A compulsive list-maker, actually. Since 7th grade, I’ve written out my goals for the year–some trivial like “Get new phone bumpers” (throwback to my Sidekick days) or “Pimp out my locker” circa 2008, some abstract like “Forget the little things” or “Do what I want to do” during my senior year. So, naturally, I decided to define some goals for this pivotal summer of mine: the bridge between high school and college. I want to get things done. Everything I’ve been wanting to do, I’ll make time for. Here are a few of the things I’d like to accomplish before I leave for college in the fall…

1. Read all the books on my before-college list

  • 1984
  • Catcher in the Rye
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • The Sun Also Rises or The Old Man and the Sea
  • This Side of Paradise or The Beautiful and the Damned or anything else Fitzgerald
  • The Bell Jar
  • Mrs. Dalloway

2. Finish watching Gilmore Girls (so I can see how Rory Gilmore handled the transition to an Ivy League school)

3. Start watching New Girl (because I love Zooey Deschanel)

4. Clean out room and closet

5. Get really good at Super Smash Bros.

6. Become a master braider

7. Renew wardrobe

8. Get fit (by the end of the summer, I will probably be laughing at this one)

Even though I never accomplish everything, making lists helps me prioritize the things in my life and gives me that all-important illusion that I’m in control of my life. I’ve found that even having just a few goals can really provide a sense of direction and purpose; instead of lying around all day, I am constantly working on something. Makes me feel productive. Do you have any particular summer goals? If so, please share! I could always use new ideas.

~Natalie

Leave a Reply

